Universal connections through books, television and movies

“To realize all your life, all your love, all your hate, all your memory, all your pain – It was all the same thing.” – Cohle
What is it about movies, television shows and books that stir us and move us? The ones that stay with us, haunt us? The ones we obsess over?
I binge watched season 1 of True Detective. HBO was free this weekend. I don’t watch a lot of television, but I do watch it regularly. It’s been awhile since I binged watched. My last binge was the X Men. I watched every X Men movie in a weekend.
What it is it that sucks us in?
For me it’s the human component. I am a therapist, I love interacting with the psyche. True Detective does a brilliant job of creating complex characters that are relate-able and draw you in.
Those shows and movies we love to watch and the books we love to read. We love to watch them because they reflect pieces of ourselves, pieces of our beliefs. Remind us, no matter how dark or light we feel inside, others share our human experiences.
We process these movies, shows and books not only intellectually but soulfully too. We are connecting to a deeper piece of ourselves and our experiences as a human. We are connected to the stories because their stir our souls. That is what great writing does. It stirs the soul and connects us to the human experiences shared by all of us.
On another note, sorry I have been absent. I have been doing some very deep work, figuring out who I am and who I want to be. Another reason True Detective spoke to me. One man who knows who he is, light and dark and accepts it and another man who fights it, who enjoys living in denial. I am somewhere between Cohle and Hart. The soul stirring writing of True Detective has inspired me to get back to writing. A desire to harness the same power in words to move and connect to others. The beautiful cinematography and direction has inspired me to create once again. To step outside of my perceptions of myself and embrace my truth. Thank you True Detective for re awaking me.
What was the last book, television show or movie you obsessed over? Just couldn’t get it out of your head?

Leave a Reply

