Self forgiveness

Day 6
Self Forgiveness
I use to hate myself
Every little mistake became another brick in my wall
Another dirty secret
Another bone to the closet
Another reason why I was unworthy of love
I held onto everything
Every little wrong to someone else
Something I said or didn’t say
Something I did or didn’t do
Day after day
Entering the ring
Only to be knocked out
Cold
Alone
Afraid
I wore my guilt like a warm furry winter coat
Until one day
The burden became too great
I couldn’t walk
Or look people in the eyes
I cowered
I lowered my head
I was the door mat
An unlovable lump
Until I could carry my burden no more
I screamed
I cried
I sought help
I released
I forgive myself
And learned how to love myself
anew

Leave a Reply

