Ode to Ed and Edna

Deception

Poem One is a poem dealing with internal pain.  The second poem,  is dealing with depression and poem three is a hopefully happy poem.  I will post one a day.

The poem below is dedicated to my struggle with an eating disorder from which I am now recovered.

Desperate to numb the pain
Shut out the voices
The quest for perfection
Mislead by media
Pop culture
Others
Mt thoughts
My eyes
Drowning in emotion
Stuff them down
Bit
Bite after bite
Piece by piece
Slowly killing myself
just to escape
Stop
Desires to be Surpremely unenviablely
Unblemished
Illusions
Beautiful
Feed lies
I choose to believe
Covering the cracks
Falling apart behind the facade
Control escapes me
Grasping
Struggling
Hiding behind my smile
Pretending
I am okay
I am nothing but a shell
Slowly
Dying
Just to escape my humanity
The consuming emotions
That destroy
Bite after bite
Push it down
Purging
sickness and madness
Seeping out
Comfort ed by my disease

5 comments on “Ode to Ed and Edna

  1. How many people … myself included … can relate to your words “Desperate to numb the pain / Shut out the voices / The quest for perfection”?
    … and “Hiding behind my smile /Pretending / I am okay”?

    Powerful words describing the underlying sense of loneliness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

