Therapy Thursdays- Mad World

I can feel the energy pulsing through my body.  I feel sick.  Shaky. My body knew the verdict before my brain.  That sense that something is wrong, off in the world, dread.  I wish I had the answers, I don’t.  I just know what we are doing isn’t working.

I was deeply saddened by the Michael Brown verdict.  I don’t have all the facts.  I can’t judge, I wasn’t there.

When events in our nation happen we want to make sense of them.  Understand it.  Easy the unrest in our minds and bodies.  Some of us, clam up, retreat further inward.  Some of us, lash out.  Looking to be heard, seen and felt.  And some of us, see this as an opportunity good or bad to help others, society and yes, some of us, to help ourselves.  Events like this bring out the best and worse in people.

We as a society are hurting.  We are sick physically, mentally and emotional.  I hate this.  I want us all to be healthy and happy.

What can you do?  You can be an advocate for a better society.  A society based on love and not judgment.  I realize I am asking a lot.  We as a society have a long way to go.  I truly believe that if each of us, does something, we can create change.  I am asking you to:

  1. Love yourself.You deserve your love and respect.  When you love you, it’s easier to love others.  Accept yourself, good, bad, flaws and all.  We are all flawed people.  Love and relish all of you.  Because you might know it now, but you are truly amazing person!
  2. Stop judging.Starting with yourself.   Stop comparing yourself to others.  You are you, no one else has your life, your experiences, your circumstances.  Yes, we share similar events and experiences, but we all experience things differently based on several factors, such as family history, genetics, disposition, attitude, socio economics and more.

Stop judging others.  You are not them.   You can create a story on why people do what they do, but in the end, it’s a story and you don’t have all the facts.  Creating stories to understand others actions helps us feel better, but it’s still just a story.  Just like, you can speculate.  Walk a mile in their shoes.  But still you don’t know.

REMEMBER: You are magnificent!  Let yourself be human.

  1. Share the love.Pay it forward.  Do something nice for someone, anyone, the planet, nature, animals.  Volunteer, pay for someone’s lunch or coffee, donate time, money, clothing, food.  Rake a neighbor’s leaves or shovel their snow.  Acts of kindness create good feelings and vibes.

Together we can create a better world, society and planet.

3 comments on “Therapy Thursdays- Mad World

    • Thank you! It’s sad that we live in a world where people are judged by the color of their skin and not by who they are. I look forward to the day that we respect each other and love each other for who we are. A day when we are not so quick to judge and hate. We all breath and we all bleed. We are all human regardless.

      Like

      • I think we are on the way there. Just seeing so many people talking about this is a great start. I am so grateful to the protesters from Ferguson and their supporters from other places who have worked so hard at not letting these issues slide away.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

