Mental Health Awareness

hearts

As a human rights advocate, which we all need to be, don’t you think?  It is time that we stop labeling others and ourselves.  We are unique individuals not labels and diagnoses.  I am a writer, a dreamer, a mother, and a person who suffers from anxiety.  I am not an anxiety disorder.  We often fall into the trap of believing labels assigned to us by society and doctors.  You and everyone else is more that just a label!

Stand up for being a person not a label and diagnosis.

Don’t always believe the labels others place on you.

Talk, talk and do some more talking.  And writing.  We can’t end the stigma if you don’t talk about it.  It is scary to come out and share your struggles.  However, there is power in sharing.  Others can benefit from your story.

What I am going to do?  I am going to continue to advocate for mental health treatment and the end of the mental health stigmas.  I will share my stories of dealing with grief, anxiety, and supporting a love one dealing with depression and suicidal ideations.

Together we create change!

5 comments on “Mental Health Awareness

  1. I will say I agree with you but I will still be guilty of explaining my son’s behaviour in terms of his Autism. It’s very difficult not to, even though I know him to be a beautiful human being with his own character, likes, dislikes, nature, etc, etc.
    Society, the health community and stigmas all contribute to conditioning us to place labels on people. It has become a way to explain – to keep others from judging and to provide excuses for what the public sees which might be otherwise laughed at.
    It’s a tough one to be sure. Thanks for this post, Carter. You’ve given me something to think about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for sharing and being an advocate! Won’t it be nice if we lived in a world were everyone was accepted and loved for who they are? Where we didn’t have to explain behaviors? I have worked with autistic people, as well as, mentally ill and developmentally disabled individuals and I have found that they are such wonderfully beautiful people who don’t get a fair chance because of the stigmas that follow them. Wishing you the best!

      Like

  2. Amen to this! I totally agree with you, thank you for being an inspiration to many people through this blog. Your photos are amazing and now I know that your views on mental health issues are amazing too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

