One Way Street

No Use for Time

Today’s daily prompt, “Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?”

Yes!  My mad man in a blue box has finally arrived.  Then I read the fine lines.  Past or future.  No traveling the universe.  Depression started to set in. I really wanted to see the universe.  Explore different times and places, briefly.  I have no intentions of staying.  And with the said time machine, I am committed to staying someplace other than home.

I let my mind wander.

I could travel backwards, decade by decade.  Living the history I soak up in books and movies.  Being part of history has it’s appeal.  Nothing like first hand experience.  But what happens when I reach my finally destination?  Stuck.  No thank you.

I could travel forwards, decade by decade.  Witnessing the future unfold.  Do we destroy ourselves or rebuild ourselves?  I really don’t want to see us destroy ourselves, my family fade away.  No thank you.  Beautiful thought, rebuilding a utopia of peace and love.  Lingering in my mind, this is not my place.  I wasn’t meant to be part of this.  Or was I?  It doesn’t matter.  I have made my decision.

I will stay put.  Right here.  Right now.  Learn from the past and do my best to help the future endeavors of utopia.

Leave a Reply

